The Same Secondus That Demanded For The Resignation Tukur As PDP National Chairman In 2013, Has Refused To Resign; By Tonye Barcanista

This is an opinion piece by Tonye Barcanista.

In late 2013, Prince Uche Secondus, as then Deputy National Chairman to Alhaji Bamanga Tukur, was among the NWC Faction that demanded the resignation of Alhaji Tukur from Office as National Chairman.

The position of those seeking Tukur’s resignation was that the party under him was riddled with crisis, which climaxed at the defection of 5 Governors from the PDP to the the newly formed APC, as then was.

The crisis got to a point that a NWC meeting that was called by Alhaji Tukur was boycotted by Chief Secondus and other members of the then NWC, except two members of the body.

The interesting aspect was that most of the members that boycotted the NWC meeting called by Alhaji Tukur, were in their respective offices at the National Secretariat of the party, Wadata Plaza.

By January 14, 2014, Alhaji Tukur finally threw the towel, he resigned. Prince Secondus acted for a few days, until Adamu Muazu was elected as new Chairman.

In 2021, the same Chief Uche Secondus is refusing to resign, despite the myriad of crisis the party is going through under his watch, factionalisation in many States and Zonal Chapters, division within the NWC, and defection of 3 Governors, and dozens of Federal and State Legislators, to the All Progressive Congress.

If it was in the interest of the party for Alhaji Tukur to resign then, it should be the same for Prince Uche Secondus to resign now!*

My name is Tonye Barcanista, I am from Rivers State.

page36 Donate to us

Page 36

Read Previous

BREAKING: Borno State Governor, Professor Babagana Zulum, Announces The Victorious Rescue Of 1 Other Chibok Schoolgirl, After 7 Years

Read Next

Jubilation As Top APC Chieftain Defects To PDP With Over 80,000 Followers In A Grand Ceremony, Says The Insecurity Is Too Much Under APC

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *